BAM Book Divas Meet & Greet

  

Last night marked the official Meet & Greet for the BAM Book Divas. I think we picked the name for the group because it sounded good because these women are the furthest thing from divas!! They are sweet and soulful and funny. A winning combination if you ask me!

At present, we have eleven members but unfortunately only nine were able to join us last night.  We grabbed the biggest table at Panera Bread and got settled in. I happened to bump into someone I used to work with at Edible Arrangements back when I was working two jobs. It’s always nice to cross paths with the kind people over and over. 

It was a true “meet & greet” as we went around the table and gave the full introduction. We are a pretty diverse group, but we all actually had two things in common:

Everyone has children and everyone is married. 

I was not expecting every single member to be married. I don’t know why, but it was a pleasant surprise. Another tie that binds us perhaps. 

Since not everyone was present, we decided to pick names for the first three months for book selections. We will pick the balance of the year when we are all together. I was able to select the book for February, Jodi (my newer friend through cookie exchange planning) was chosen for March and Lisa (a teacher and mother to a one year old) was chosen for April.  

I had been flipping through book selections online and came across The Rosie Project: A Novel by Graeme Simsion earlier this week. It sounded like a fun, lighthearted book, so I suggested it. Both Porsche (another newer friend from cookie exchange planning) and Hannah (a mom to two boys and originally from Texas) had both read it previously. It turns out they both liked it so much, they agreed to read it again and our February book had been chosen!  We agreed on a meeting spot and time and decided to move things over to Chili’s for drinks. 

We had a great time!  It was a little loud which kinda stinks because then I miss some of the conversation at one end of the table or the other. Our server stunk and was non-existent. But one Tito’s Punch (which reminded me of my early years mixing Very Fine Fruit Punch and Malibu) and some fun company made for the perfect end to the evening!  

About jenni41013

I am a 37 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in 2016 Challenge, BAM Book Divas, Blogging, Book Club, Friends, Funny Stuff, It's New to Me!, Random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

