My 2016 Challenge

2015 was really a notable year for our family. My son turned 18 years old and enlisted in the United States Marine Corps. He graduated from high school and just a few short months later from Boot Camp. Mid-year, my husband accepted a new management position within his field. I supported them through all of this change and was their biggest cheerleader. 

Some crummy stuff happened too. Our first dog, Katie, got sicker early in the year and we had to send her to wait for us at the rainbow bridge. Then, our new puppy, Cali, had a neurological disease and we had to make the tough choice for her too. My Aunt/Godmother passed away after a lifetime of fighting illness. And finally, Sack Lunch Sunday came to an official end in November. 

This morning as we looked at a new year in front of us, I challenged myself to keep doing things to help other people. I thought about someone I had heard about a couple years ago who dedicated his life to helping others and decided to learn more. His name was Jim Proffitt. Mrs. P, a teacher from my high school, had mentioned him to me a few times and so I reached out to her to see what she could share with me. She suggested I call his wife, Ginny, as Jim had passed away in October 2014, but she still heads up the weekly Sandwich Run for the homeless with a focus on our Veterans. 

I called Ginny and I think I startled her. Apparently strangers call her Virginia. Well, I won’t be a stranger for much longer because I am going to volunteer at their warehouse tomorrow morning to learn about their mission and how they do things. They meet every Saturday to make lunches – 1,000 of them weekly – and then a small group meets on Sunday to deliver the lunches. They’ve been doing this for 26 years and it turns out it that Mr. Proffitt was very concerned with veterans transitional housing as well. He actually has an apartment complex/housing unit named after him. 

I am nervous and excited. I know I cannot commit to do this every weekend, but I am very interested in what they do and how I can help. So I will show up with my ten pounds of bologna tomorrow ready to lend a hand. 

I challenge you to do something outside of your comfort zone to help other people. It doesn’t have to be huge. It doesn’t have to be photo worthy. It just needs to warm your heart and affect someone else positively. I guarantee if you do things like that enough times that you will miss it when the opportunities don’t seem to be in front of you as frequently. You will scout them out. And you will show up with bologna somewhere to try and make a tiny difference. 

About jenni41013

I am a 35 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in 2016 Challenge, Blogging, Homeless, It's New to Me!, Marine, Military, Random, Uncategorized, United States Marine Corps, USMC and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

