The Chicagoland Blue Star Mothers are Searchable!

It’s no secret that I was about to get involved in something new. I love the work and the opportunities I have had with SLS and I will continue to do what I can when I can. I am grateful to my buddy Nick who came up with the concept and let me be a small part of SLS. I have made some of the very best friends through SLS, I met amazing people along the way for various reasons, I learned so much about homelessness/addiction/life, I learned about local resources and I learned a lot about myself. There’s still a lot to learn, but I’m going to take a slight turn on a different path for a while to see what else I can do.

In October, right before Michael graduated from Marine Corps Boot Camp, I learned about the Blue Star Mothers of America. What I quickly found out is that we did not have a chapter here in the Chicagoland area. I was bummed. I didn’t want to drive to Wisconsin for a monthly meeting, but I knew that I wanted to get involved. And I was excited to learn that this was for all Branches of our Military. Well, four other moms and myself agreed to volunteer to be the Charter Members of the Chicagoland Blue Star Mothers IL06 and our chapter is being officially installed in just a couple weeks! (Military Moms: You can now Locate Our Chapter and become a member on the website.)

This is where you come in… If you are a Military Mom (Marines, Army, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard) or if you know a Military Mom, please reach out. WE WANT YOU!  Please share this information where you see fit. We will meet on the second Wednesday of every month in Naperville, IL at 7:00pm starting with open meetings on February 10th.

And to my supportive friends and family who aren’t Military Moms and don’t know any, don’t worry…as soon as we get the ball rolling and plan our first event/fundraiser/writing campaign/etc, I promise to share that info with you, so you can get involved too. 

Want to know what the Blue Star Mothers are all about?  Check out the website!

About jenni41013

I am a 37 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Air Force, Army, Blogging, Coast Guard, Family, Friends, It's New to Me!, Marine, MEPS, MEPS Chicago, Military, Navy, Parenting, Random, Uncategorized, United States Marine Corps, USMC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

