2015 Christmas Cookies

Christmas cookies. For easy reference, I think it’s important to document what I made, what I thought and what I loved and want to make in the future.

So, way up high on the yummy scale were these Butterfinger Fudge Cookie Bars. I made them a few times and the husband loved them!  My only concern is that either I was overbaking them or I should have made them in a 9×13 pan to have a thicker bar with less likelihood of overbaking the base. These are definitely in the rotation going forward. 

  
I tried a brand new (to me) chocolate chip cookie recipe and after I botched up the first batch by forgetting the eggs, I quickly fell in love with the unique flavors behind this cookie. The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie uses Butter Crisco, cinnamon and even nutmeg to taste just right. I’m guessing my oven may not be calibrated right or I can’t measure flour because these tasted fabulous, but it didn’t matter what I did…they ended up a little dry. The first day they seemed perfect, but on the second day, I wanted to warm them in the microwave before I ate them. I used the Medium Scoop from Pampered Chef and baked them about 9-10 each time. I also should have taken a better picture, but it is what it is at this point. 

The recipe that worked out best for me was the Pistachio Pudding Cookie. I used the same medium scoop, but split every cookie in half and rolled it into a ball before baking since I didn’t have a small scoop. These are still soft from last week and they’re really good!  Loaded with white chocolate, pistachios and dried cranberries, I would say these are a must have for next year!

My vote for least time consuming and longest lasting treat would be the Wicked Chocolate Caramel Bars. Easy to make and the caramel stayed ooey gooey!  The next time someone asks me to bring something sweet and I’m short on time, I will definitely go with these bar cookies.

I opted for a No-bake Butterscotch Haystack to fill in the gap a little. I cheat and use the lightly salted peanuts from Aldi’s rather than the Spanish Peanuts the recipe calls for. Other than that, I stuck to the rules and these turned out just right!

Finally the two must tries for my next baking extravaganza are these Brownie Cookies and these Chocolate Toffee Cookies. My cousin Barb brought both on Christmas Eve and I wish I wouldn’t have been so full and could have indulged a bit more!

About jenni41013

I am a 35 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Baking, Blogging, Cookies, Family, Friends, Funny Stuff, Holiday, It's New to Me!, Random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

