Holidaze 2015

Somehow Thanksgiving weekend is just about behind us and I officially feel like I’m in a “holidaze”. The turkey was perfect but before we had even eaten dessert, I was planning the Christmas Eve menu, deciding on cookie recipes and debating the travel schedule for the month of December. 

I love the holidays!  My birthday is in October, so that sort of kicks it off for me. Lots of visiting with friends and family which leads right to Thanksgiving. More visiting, baking and making memories until we are at Christmas!  I’m all about the post-Christmas sales while I gear up for the New Year. These ~75 days are usually the highlight of my year. 

As life evolves, so do other things. Like, we kept my birthday nice and low key this year. And Thanksgiving was almost a quiet day. In an effort to keep myself distracted, I’ve decided to try some new things. I’m leaning toward starting new traditions. Yesterday, I attended a cutout cookie making/decorating class with my friend, Kelley. 

  We had such a good time!  I remember the first time I tried to make cutout cookies many years ago…what an ugly mess!  This time, I was more successful and I even have a plan to put my class into action. For a first-timer, I didn’t think my elf was that bad. 

  
We’ve got a lot of things coming up in the next few weeks… Two first birthday parties, making homemade pasta, packing holiday care packages for prisoners here in Illinois, a community cookie exchange… See!  Good stuff!  Plus I’m going to try and make cutout cookies on my own from start to finish. I think I will have better success than the last time. Fingers crossed!  I want to plan some holiday dinners/coffees/martinis with friends and family. I was thinking about visiting the Morton Arboretum for the first time to see their holiday display. 

While I was relaxing this morning, I entered a bunch of sweepstakes (I was feeling lucky)!  My friend, Aimee over at Shugary Sweets is participating in a blogger giveaway nine other bloggers all giving away some pretty sweet prizes!  Make sure to swing on by!  

I also wanted to mention the 12 Days of Christmas that Albanese Candies just alerted me to for December 1st through the 12th. They have the most amazing double chocolate dipped malted milk balls I have ever tasted. Make sure to enter!  

Last year, my buddy won the grand prize in the Wilderness Hotel & Golf Resort 12 days giveaway. Maybe someone in my inner circle will be lucky enough to do some winning of some sort through something this season!

I vow to keep myself busy while trying not to let the holidaze set in on me. Good luck doing the same!

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Baking, Blogging, Cookies, Family, Friends, Holiday, It's New to Me!, Random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

