The Crunchy Truth

I have Rice Chex in my hair and I don’t care. No, I’m not sharing the lyrics for my newest song. I’m sharing the truth. The crunchy-cereal-in-my-hair truth. 
My son shipped back out for more training today after a long night followed by a 4:00am wake up call. I learned a few things today…

1. When your eighteen year old son tells you that he did a “360 degree check”, just go check again.  

2. It is far too easy to pull into the taxi cab/limo parking lot at O’Hare International Airport if you don’t know where you’re going. 

3. You can actually park inside of a parking garage for just $2 for per hour (short term) at O’Hare if you want to walk someone inside for a departure. 

4. Some airlines have special check-in kiosks for military personnel. 

5. Some airline staff recognize a teaching moment when they see one and know how to gracefully remove themselves from the situation, so mom may continue to teach. 

6. MoMs should not drive themselves home/to work/or anywhere else alone after the “see you laters”.

7. The San Diego USO volunteers are extremely kind people both in person and over the telephone. 

8. My Marine will always need me. And I’ll always need him. 

  
So with cereal in my hair because I snacked at some point today and apparently missed my mouth…more than once…I am signing off for the evening. Exhausted, but grateful that he’s safe and right where he belongs. Semper Fi. 

About jenni41013

I am a 37 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

