Egg Nog in October

My Marine is headed back out for training soon and I needed to run to the grocery store for a few last minute things. First of all, shopping at 1:30pm on a Monday afternoon means you will meet all of the elderly folks in the community. There will be mid-aisle traffic jams. And you will likely be plucking jars of chicken bullion from the top shelf for an older woman who is somehow even shorter than you are…I’m a whopping 5′ 4″, so most people seem taller than me. No joke though she needed two jars and hunted me down for assistance. I was happy to oblige, but barely able to reach any better than I think she could have. 

I wandered the aisle and discovered I had forgotten a million little things when he first came home. He never had the nubby Entenmann’s donuts that he likes so much. Got ’em!  He asked for some specific Mexican candy…I couldn’t find it. Japanese candy it is then!  I don’t think he’s had enough peach ring candies. Toss those babies in the cart!  

Oh yeah, and he wanted egg nog in case he’s not home over the holidays. Well, I don’t see any. I’ll check again. Nope. Nothing. Hmmm. Lo & behold there is a man stocking the dairy behind the rack of milk. We make eye contact. I politely ask about the likelihood of egg nog making it into my cart today. Would you believe he was just about to fill an empty space with the first egg nog of the season?  Yep, I cried. He thought I was nuts. I was really happy. And I don’t even drink the stuff!  Yes, we now know that we can get egg nog in October. It’s the little things, my friends. 
  

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

