Christmas Eve 2014

At 1am on Christmas Morning, Christmas Eve is officially behind us now. It’s funny how things change over the years. Long gone are the days of putting together “The Toy” before my son wakes up or hitting the bar for a nightcap after the family festivities. My son is just over a month away from turning eighteen years old. The dynamic in our home is constantly evolving. And that’s a good thing… I think.

Today, I was blessed to sleep in after my hubby tip toed out this morning after giving me a gentle kiss on the forehead and covering me with our blanket. Once the day was underway, I wrapped some gifts and decided on a dessert to bring to our family gathering tonight. My son and I ran to Jewel (crazy parking lot, customers, employees, etc.!). We picked up the essentials for today’s apple cake, choose some items to make Christmas Morning Breakfast and grabbed some beautiful shrimp to bring to tomorrow’s dinner.

Once we were back home, it was back to wrapping gifts while I talked Michael through making the apple cake. He did a marvelous job!! I’m so grateful he agreed to help out, so I could finish other tasks.

Anthony arrived home and we enjoyed each other’s company for a few hours before heading to dinner with my mom’s side of the family. This year, for the first time in my memory, we had dinner at an Italian restaurant in St. Charles and then went back to my Aunt and Uncle’s home for dessert and Dirty Santa. Except this was the cleanest game of Dirty Santa ever. Not one person stole a gift from another person. This was an indication to me that this year’s gifts were pretty good. Michael received three Blu-Ray disks and a gift certificate. Anthony ended up with a countertop grill – kinda like a George Foreman Grill. And I walked away with four new fluffy pillows. I have every intention of sleeping well tonight. After a slice of calzone and some dessert, we headed home where we were greeted by our two loving dogs and a family room full of gifts, wrapping materials all over and empty boxes throughout. I left a bigger mess than I realized.

So I wrapped my son’s last few gifts, sorted the wrapped gifts and threw away some garbage. I still have a good sized pile of gifts left to wrap, but I can do that tomorrow.

And for now, I am lying in my bed, getting ready to watch A Christmas Story for the first time this season and listening to the muffled sounds of my son chatting on the phone with his girlfriend. My cousin, Barb, made some caramel chocolate chip cookie bars and I may snag one little bite before bed. But for now, I’ll just enjoy the sounds of our home on this Christmas night.

About jenni41013

I am a 37 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Baking, Blogging, Cookies, Dinner, Family, Holiday, Random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

