A Better Introduction

While perusing Facebook today, I saw an old friend had commented on this article and it really hit home for me. At thirty five years old, I find that I have crossed and continue to cross paths with such a wide variety of people. More often than not, I’m introducing my friends as:

The Planner at Ulta Corporate.
My Sister who sells Point of Purchase Displays.
My hubby who’s in freight.
My girlfriend who lives across the country.

And the list goes on…

I love the personal feeling that comes with identifiers that mean something. It’s a way of showing that you care and value each person individually. I’ve been thinking about this a bit today and here’s what I’ve come up with so far for future introductions (or at least what I want to say about these amazing people!):

This is my courageous friend, Natalie, who pushes me to be my best and is an excellent mentor to young women. She knows how to tell it like it is without bringing people down.

This is my younger sister, Catherine, who has overcome many obstacles in every aspect of her life yet remains optimistic about her future. She has the best skin of anyone I know and makes excellent chocolate chip/M&M cookies.

This is my husband, Anthony, who is a hardworking warrior fighting for what he believes in. He thinks he’s funny when he’s not which makes him absolutely charming. He is dedicated to our family in ways beyond what I ever could have imagined and he officially is my go-to guy when it comes to sushi.

This is my friend, Nicolette, who really is my own personal historian. She remembers all of the important details of our lives (some of which I wish she would forget!), is a devoted wife & mother and has raised her two gorgeous daughters the way I wish more people would these days…with respect.

This is my friend, Sharrah, a fearless woman who is stronger than she thinks. She knows just what to say to turn my day around. And she has raised a beautiful, independent, spectacular young woman who has already made her mark on this world…at least in my life for sure.

This is my friend, Nick, who reaches outside of himself every day to help others. He is inspirational to people who are struggling through life and he would literally give you the shirt off his back. (For the record, I’ve already got this whole “Nick intro” down pat…I think he’s the only person in my life I introduce in such a way.)

This is my friend, Joni, the true SuperMom. Even when times are tough, she makes us all strive to be better parents. Mother to four, but friend to many. Plus, she’s one of the most creatively talented people I know.

This is my friend, Stephanie. Her genuineness shines right from her in everything she does. If you’re in need of some kindness, look no further than right here. She’s another fabulous mother to four, well-behaved children.

This is my sister, Danielle, who has the best laugh. She puts family first, gave me two of my beautiful nieces and has a wonderful sense of style.

This is my friend, Dianne, who is an animal lover and a caring woman. She makes sure that everyone around her is happy and well taken care of before even thinking about herself. Truly selfless.

This is my friend, Kelley, who is a real humanitarian. She loves taking care of other people, loves being a mom and wife and is a great listener. She has excellent taste in pretty much everything and I’m pretty lucky to have crossed paths with her.

This is my friend, Brian, who is one of the funniest guys I know. He makes me laugh without even trying. He’s a devoted husband & father and knows how to tell a great story.

This is my sister, Amy, who can turn any situation into a fun time. She makes me feel better when I am sad. I am blessed to have two of my nephews and one of my nieces because of her. She’s an excellent listener.

This is my friend, Jaime, who is like an onion. She has many layers and I’m still enjoying the opportunity to discover each one. She always smells fabulous (unlike an onion) and has an excellent eye for detail.

This is my friend, Julie, who defines the word “busy”. I’ve never met someone with so many commitments who’s still great at so many things. She has persevered through so many things and still smiles at the end of the day.

This is my sister, Beth, who is one of the most unique people I know. She proudly doesn’t care what anyone else thinks. She’s a grown woman who wears mismatched socks because it’s cute on her and she can. She takes friendship seriously.

This is my friend, Nicky, who is absolutely hilarious! She is creative, loving and sincere. An excellent combination of traits make up this woman who was raised “right”.

This is my friend, Kim, who gives the best hugs. She would do anything for the people she loves and even goes above and beyond for people you wouldn’t expect to fall in that circle. She’s brave, funny and an awesome woman.

This is my friend, Danielle, who is one of the most generous people I know. She reminds me that you don’t have to be Rockefeller to give of yourself. She’s unique, true to herself and a lifelong friend. We will be friend until the bitter end.

This is my baby sister, Mary, is one of the most talented people I know. She’s smart, witty and can play multiple musical instruments well (although not simultaneously). She’s a good singer and a hard worker.

This is my friend, Kristin, who has taught me about priorities. She has shown me that you can’t help others if you don’t help yourself first. She takes top-notch care of her family, knows how to make people feel special and loves to run. And she’s smart. Very smart.

This is my friend, Jerry, who is like a brother to me. I know he’s got my back no matter what the circumstances. He should do standup comedy (and he has before!) because he knows how to make people laugh. He’s a great dad and friend.

This is my friend, Sheryl, who is the most down to earth person I know. She is soft spoken, but funny. Loving and gentle. A lost child would be comfortable walking up to this kind soul.

This is my brother, Daniel, who just loves people. He loves to help everyone around him whether he knows them or not. He works hard to complete his goals. And he makes sure that I know he loves me…he makes me smile.

This is my friend, Karen, who goes above & beyond for others. She puts the needs of others above her own, she’s a wonderful listener and she thinks things through. She is extremely generous and a wonderful role model.

This is my friend, Teri, who is an advocate for doing the right thing. She stands loud and proud educating people about numerous topics. She encourages me to stand up for the things I believe in as well. She is a fighter…a damn good one.

This is my friend, Lisa, who is “the fun one”. She knows where the after party is gonna be. She knows how to keep the good times rolling. And she is a considerate woman with a great sense of humor.

This is my friend, Brooke, who is a lover of all things Halloween. She can find a way to make the most mundane things seem awesome! She’s funny and so thoughtful. She always put other people first and values the importance of family.

This is my friend, Jacquie, who is a proud Christian. She’s mom to the most adorable kids, the queen of Pinterest success stories and a giving person.

This is just a brief list of some of the amazing people in my life. And their better introductions. I know most of them will never see this entry and I’m a-ok with that because I believe these things to be true and I don’t need acknowledgement from any of them.

My only wish? That I could spend more time with each of them and reconnect with the ones who I’ve been distanced from over time. Maybe then I could add to these introductions.

About jenni41013

I am a 37 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Friends, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

