Girlfriends!

I love having girlfriends! When I was growing up, I had the greatest group of girlfriends, but sometime in high school I managed to swap most of my girlfriends for a bunch of guy friends. Guys are not the same. There’s a reason you have different people in your life at different times. For me, I needed my guy friends when I had them, but I’ve always needed my girlfriends. Thankfully, a few years back (actually once I met my husband and decided he would actually BE my husband), I did another swap and found myself connecting with mostly my girlfriends again and leaving most of my guy friends behind in my single days.

It’s worked out well. I love the few guy friends I have in my everyday life, but I’m glad they’re kept to a minimum. Guys can be smelly…and loud…and they tend to adjust themselves whenever the mood strikes…and they just aren’t really good at being friends with married women. At least most aren’t. But my girlfriends are awesome! They smell so yummy and make me wonder where they bought their hair product and what scent is in that lotion they’re sporting. Girlfriends can get loud, but usually because we are laughing as we talk about the men in our lives! And girlfriends don’t have junk to adjust. We yank at our bra straps from time to time, but there’s no blatant adjustment while walking through the restaurant or sitting at a friend’s house. And married, single, divorced, widowed…it don’t matter. Us women…we can all find common ground and be friends.

Today, I enjoyed breakfast with my girlfriend of sixteen years, Natalie, and my husband at Egg Harbor Cafe in downtown Wheaton, IL. Natty introduced me to Egg Harbor many years ago and I have been addicted to their cinnamon roll French toast ever since. They’re a chain, but feel nice and homey. Most importantly, they have a variety of food choices that please both my girlfriend and my husband. Win-win.

After a nice breakfast, we headed back to Natalie’s, saw her dad for a bit and headed home. Saturday is my day to get stuff done and so off I went to JoAnn Fabrics. I picked up chalk paint and fabrics for some upcycling projects I’m working on in the garage. After a quick trip to Lowe’s for black ceramic knobs and metal doohickeys for a cabinet door, I was all set. Success! I spent the next few hours putting a second coat of paint on two tables, adding some hardware (with my assistant’s assistance…aka my son Michael helped get a few things in place with his muscles) and planning out my next moves. I really want to be able to park in the garage within the next two weeks, so I NEED to do finish my projects. And find somewhere for my four metal, seatless chairs to go. I picked them up for a sweet deal, but haven’t had time to give them the attention they deserve. And now I don’t know where to store them this upcoming winter. Fingers crossed that I can just “hide” them in our tiny one car garage.

Tonight, my girlfriend, Sharrah, picked me up and we zipped over to our girlfriend, Jaime’s, new home. It’s gorgeous!! Every detail so well thought out. The execution is impeccable. Her husband, Tom, has a great eye for color and detail and between the two of them, the house is coming together perfectly. We were joined by Nicky and Catherine. Nicky is one of my now girlfriends who I met through my sister, Catherine. I’m telling you…time flies when you’re with these four girls! We laugh. And laugh. And laugh!

Jaime has great fur and feather kids who kept us entertained all evening. Goliath is so handsome. He’s a nine year old doggie and so lovable! Shelby also walks through their home on four legs. He is their cat and I loved hearing how he joined their family! (Girlfriends tell the best stories, you know!) And Cookie the Bird is kind of a shithead. He repeats things. Actually, he mimics Jaime’s husband and he’s hilarious!!! But, as we got louder, so did Cookie. He didn’t want to be left out of the conversation. Cookie also makes the sound of a ringing cell phone. You can imagine how crazy that can get! We also met their rescued chinchilla, but I can’t think of his name mainly because he stays where it’s cool and dark, is skittish and didn’t come out to play.

Sharrah, Jaime, Nicky, Catherine and I had great fun at Jaime’s Girl’s Night In – Festival of Flavor. I love that Jaime names the night! We scheduled our official 2nd annual cookie exchange that I am co-hosting with my sissy at her home. We ate great, talked and told stories. It was a wonderful night!

Tonight’s post was written in honor of my closest girlfriends. New or old…I love you girls!!
Brooke, Catherine, Chrissy, Danielle, Dianne, Heather, Jacquie, Jaime, Joni, Julie, Kelley, Kristin, Kristine, Lisa, Natalie, Nicky, Nicolette, Sharrah, Sheryl, Stephanie and Teri. ❤

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Friends, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Girlfriends!

  1. Catherine Price says:

    Beautifully written. It was a great night!!!

Leave a Reply

