The Recap

I feel like I need a recap. Of my life. When Pete passed away this summer, I subsequently spent a lot of time focusing on my mom. We were there all the time. Talking on the phone anytime that we weren’t there. Talking about her any other time. And then the end of July 2013 arrived.

Anthony and I had planned our first real vacation and it was a week long, all inclusive trip to Mexico. I had grandiose ideas of blogging all about it. But life happened and you will now notice that I didn’t say anything until today. It was a fabulous trip! We met some amazing people and really had a ton of fun! We enjoyed spending time together and it was one of our most memorable weeks together ever.

When we arrived back at Chicago’s O’Hare Airport, I was immediately sick. I spent that Saturday night up and down all night and I was so uncomfortable. Then I spent the next day resting. I thought I was better. So on Monday morning when I drove toward my office and was in the most excruciating pain of my life, I drove to the hospital instead of work.

After a day of testing, I went home with meds and diverticulitis. Except it wasn’t diverticulitis and I didn’t feel better. I got worse. And the following morning, I went back to the hospital and proceeded to spend just over a week there. I was miserable. More tests. Pain meds. No diagnosis. Finally, I was sent home with instructions to follow up with the gastro doc.

I spent the rest of the week home recovering. I was so exhausted from not sleeping at the hospital. And after three weeks away from the office, I headed back. I buckled down and did everything that I could to get back to normal. And after more doctor visits and more invasive tests at multiple hospitals, I have no diagnosis. To this day. Apparently I’m fine. And I’m fine with that, but scared of having that crazy pain again someday. I can only hope that it doesn’t happen.

Before I knew it, we were into October and I turned thirty four years old (holy cow!). We had previously scheduled vacation days and they were great! Lazy days with my hubby and my son.

All of a sudden, it was November and I stumbled upon Sack Lunch Sunday (SLS) for the first time. We celebrated Anthony’s thirty birthday for a week which was nice. More vacation days to use up and lots of visiting with family and friends.

Then more SLS for quite a few weeks. Michael and I like to go. Before I knew it, I was really involved and SLS was keeping me pretty busy. Thankfully that problem I mentioned a few posts ago (saying YES to everything) was put to rest in August when I got sick. And so now I can say yes to things I want to do. Like SLS!! It’s awesome! I can spend my free time doing what I want to do. And it turns out that I want to help people experiencing homelessness. And I want to help do the behind the scenes for SLS. And I want to continue to be surrounded by people who want to do good things for other people too. I’m motivated…driven… It’s hard to explain.

I helped SLS get a pregnant woman off the streets. She was sleeping on the ground with her boyfriend of three years on Lower Wacker Drive. It was unbelievable. And sad. So sad. But the day that they left the streets was fantastic! We are helping them with employment, housing, medical care, etc. It’s an ongoing process. And it’s a lot of work for them. And sometimes us.

And this past Sunday, my best friend Natalie, her daughter Serena and my brother Daniel came out to meet and feed our homeless friends.

20140102-215532.jpg

And my friend from Yelp, Andres, came out and took some pictures. He did an amazing job! This photo represents the best parts of these days…

20140102-215655.jpg

Best. Fistbump. Ever.

Christmas was nice, but the most low key that it’s ever been and that made me oddly happy. And New Year’s Eve was spent home with a movie. Finally, yesterday on New Year’s Day 2014, we went to my Dad’s House and celebrated Christmas, had an early birthday cake for my sister Beth and said goodbye to her for a whole. She’s headed to London as I type for a semester at the University. I’m so excited for her! And I shall read her newly formed blog. I hope she loves her experience as much as I think she will!

And that’s it. So now we are current. I love reading my friends’ blogs so yet again I am going to try to keep this up. I’m hopeful that I can do it. If not for anyone else, at least for myself. I don’t keep a diary and I love to go back and read about what happened.

Peace and well wishes!
Jennifer

About jenni41013

I am a 37 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Friends, Holiday, Homeless, It's New to Me!, Random, Yelp. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

