Tuesday; Blues Day?

Meh. That’s how I’m feeling tonight. Meh and tired. I’m guessing this is not how the world’s best blog entries begin, but whatever.

So last weekend turned out to be great! To celebrate my dad, we went to his house on Saturday evening, ordered Chinese food and watched the Chicago Blackhawks game. All five of his kids and his two sons-in-law were there. Unfortunately, his wife had a previous engagement scheduled and his grandson (my Michael) had to work. I enjoy my visits with my dad. Probably more sometimes when I don’t have to share him with my siblings, but any visit is a good visit.

Sunday was Father’s Day. As long as I’ve known my husband, he has wanted a record player so he could listen to music on vinyl. His dreams came true on Sunday morning when we have him his very own record player!

It was like the clouds parted and the birds were singing in my living room on Sunday when he opened that gift!

So, we headed to Wicker Park for brunch and then to search for some cool records.

A doughnut at Glazed & Infused. This was Michael’s favorite part of the day. But not for the reasons you would guess. While we were standing on the corner munching on our doughnuts, a maybe late-teen/almost twenty-something kid walked up and asked my sixteen year old son for a piece of his doughnut. Without any hesitation, Michael broke off a piece of his doughnut and handed it to the other guy. He thanked him and walked away. My son took a glance and noticed that he had two buddies sitting against the wall looking hungry too. We were headed to brunch and stopped to taste (and originally share) ONE doughnut on a whim. Within moments, we were wrapping up our three doughnuts and
Michael walked over and handed the bag to the guys. Ever so grateful, all three shook his hand and we went to brunch. On the way back, as we walked past, they recognized Michael. Thanked him again. He felt good. I felt good. Our whim turned out to be a nice gesture for someone else. Good deal.

Brunch at Mindy’s Hot Chocolate was fabulous! After two meals there in two weeks, I am convinced that this is quickly becoming one of my favorite restaurants.

We checked out all sorts of shops that afternoon. I was even able to un-bookmark three places on my Yelp app. It’s always fun to wander into a place that I had wanted to try for a while.

The vast majority of our time was spent at Reckless Records on Milwaukee Avenue and at Dusty Groove in Ashland Avenue. Our search for vinyl was very successful! I won’t lie though. After about four hours of sifting through the bins, I was ready to go home.

Monday was my first day back at the office after three days plus a weekend out for a class. I was swamped! Plus, we had guests, a working lunch with the guests and projects to complete. Needless to say, I was still behind when I left Monday night.

Dinner was fajitas at my friends’ house. Julie and Mark had us over to watch the Hawks game. The highlight? Visiting with old friends from high school and some kickin’ guacamole!

Today is Tuesday and like I said, it feels like Blues Day.

-No power at work upon arrival. After 3.5 hours, the power was restored. As you might guess, I remained backlogged on my work as I left this evening.
-My close friend had a bit of a meltdown today and needed some guidance. I am feeling sad for her as her hands are quite full.
-Another friend reached out to me for guidance. She’s in a sticky situation and needs to decide how to proceed. I tried to put myself in her situation and give my thoughts. I hope she makes the best choice for her. My thoughts are with her tonight.
-My sister’s father-in-law is going in for surgery tomorrow and they are quite anxious about things. I am hoping for the best. Xoxo
-My brother-in-law’s aunt went into the hospital with pneumonia.
-My mom needs help with my grandma’s estate sale and I don’t feel like I have the time to give her that she needs. Ever hear of Catholic Guilt? I’ve got it big time!
-Finally, my son’s girlfriend lives about 45 minutes away. He doesn’t drive yet and he’s working almost full time, so he doesn’t have a lot of free time this summer. He wanted to go visit with her this week (car show with her dad, bumming at her house one day this week, etc.). He had instructions with a deadline (today) on what he needed to accomplish in order to go. He did about 10% of what he needed to do. So, as parents, we informed him that based on his decisions that he can’t see his girlfriend this week. He’s not a happy guy. Mainly mad at himself for blowing off what he needed to do, but now she’s convinced that we don’t like her and he’s so sad. Which makes me sad. I don’t want her to think we don’t like her. The decision has nothing to do with her. I don’t like to see my kid sad, but he needs to learn that his actions (or lack thereof) have consequences.

Tuesday = Blues Day

Wednesday will be better.

About jenni41013

I am a 37 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Dinner, Family, Friends, Holiday, Homeless, Parenting, Random, Yelp. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

