Blessing Bags…the thought continues

While driving down North Avenue in Melrose Park, IL tonight with a trunk full of Christmas clearance items and leftovers from our Chinese dinner, I felt an overwhelming sense of guilt. See, I was with my husband, sister and brother-in-law when we saw a gentleman who appeared to be homeless sitting under a bus stop awning surrounding by plastic garbage bags. His beard was full and scruffy. I could still taste my chicken fried rice. He had his head down and looked like he was trying to block the wind. I had just been thinking about the family get together that we are having tomorrow to eat a turkey dinner and exchange more gifts.

It was time for a reality check.

I pulled out my iPhone (there’s some reality for you) and I read to the three of them about the Blessing Bags that I came across the other night. Before I was even done reading, my sister stopped me and told me to set it up. My husband has been through more than his fair share of hard times. We don’t always see eye to eye on helping others since people often turned their backs on him. But, he supports me and he rubbed my shoulders while Catherine and I started to hash through the details.

So, we’re gonna do it. We are going to pick a day in the next couple of weeks (she was driving, so I wouldn’t let her look at her calendar), we will reach out to our friends and make Blessing Bags to give to the homeless.

I’ve wanted to spend time volunteering to help those in need for a long time, but I haven’t taken the steps to do so. This is one small step, but I’m taking it. And then, we’ll see what’s next. But I can tell you that it’s gonna be something.

Be kind to your neighbors.

Jen

About jenni41013

I am a 37 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Friends, Homeless. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

