Meatloaf Muffins

This is one of my favorite recipes! I don’t follow it exactly, but here’s the link: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-ray/meatloaf-muffins-with-barbecue-sauce-recipe/index.html

Actually, it’s a family favorite. My husband loves beef (as you may have heard me mention before) and my son likes almost anything that has a little kick. These were a special request from the hubby, but he wanted the meatloaf in a loaf pan instead of in muffin form. I prefer the muffin form so I can measure and count my calories easier. I gave in. He’s getting a beef (not turkey…but I am doing that next time) meatloaf in a loaf pan.

Based on the ingredients that I used and splitting the loaf into eight portions, the calorie count is 272 per serving. This works for me! Add some veggies or a small serving of rice or mashed potatoes and you’re all set. This will be dinner tonight and lunch tomorrow.

Important detail: Don’t forget to spray the pan with nonstick cooking spray! These suckers will stick and you will be serving a messy meatloaf if you don’t spray the pan well.

So, I almost always add extra fresh onion. I like beef better with onions. I probably won’t do that with ground turkey. I really enjoy the McCormick’s Montreal Steak Seasoning. It has a nice flavor and I use it on other meats as well. I haven’t used salsa even though the recipe calls for it. I substitute more BBQ sauce and call it a day. Finally, I don’t use the milk anymore. It has always seemed unnecessary.

Bake at 450 degrees for an hour. 20 minutes or so for the muffins. Internal temperature should be 160 degrees.

So it’s spicy and delicious! But I’m not photographing it. It is not the prettiest in loaf form.

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Dinner, Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

