A little of this and that…

I feel like I have so much to catch you up on…I’m going back to Friday, but only for one detail to get you to today.

On Friday, my hubby’s best friend’s dad passed away. He had cancer (stomach, I believe) and he lived longer than the doctors originally said. It was a tragic loss to their family. Josh had been living in California for the past year and was planning a move back home…this just sped up the process.

On Saturday, Anthony had to work for the first half of the day. This was actually a good thing because I caught up on laundry, cleaned the bathroom and just got a lot of things done around the house. He is a distraction, so I am thankful for the occasional Saturday morning at the office. He went to visit his grandma who is still recovering from knee replacement and when he got home, we went out for dinner. As you know, I am trying to make healthier choices (I’m down 18.8 pounds, by the way). I struggled with where to go for dinner. Finally, we decided to go to Wok N Fire. I’ve wanted to go there for a while and finally decided to check I out. We tried the location in St. Charles, IL. Parking was great! There’s a free lot directly across the street. The service was good and the options were plentiful. We started with chicken and veggie ‘potstickers’…

20120208-190514.jpg

Anthony had Szechwan Steak and I opted for Shrimp, Peapods, Carrots and Onions in a Pepper & Garlic Sauce. Both were very good. I had brown rice instead of fried or white rice. I only ate about 1/3 of my meal because I wanted a little dessert. As we wandered across the street to the car, my ever-loving hubby noticed an ice cream shop that makes their own ice cream daily. Jackpot! Here’s the problem…I had no idea how many calories were in their ice cream. I ultimately used Oberweis ice cream nutrition facts to track my calories. My favorite?

20120208-191009.jpg

Yummy in my tummy!!!

Out of guilt and mainly because I was concerned that I completely overdid it with the ice cream, I decided to ‘encourage’ Anthony or Michael to take a long walk with me when we got home. Sadly, both declined. No fear, I shall have a Saturday Night Dance Party by myself…in my bedroom…to burn hundreds of calories. Woo hoo! I felt much better after an hour and a half of shaking my booty. I’m not a gym person yet, so this was a nice change to my usual walk.

You may recall that we like to bowl. There was a time when we were at the lanes most nights every week. That night, Anthony got involved with a tournament or something on his Xbox, but I heard from some old friends who were bowling. I decided to join them for a while. Please allow me to introduce you to some silly friends. Bob…

20120208-191549.jpg

And Jim! (goofy, goofy Jim)

20120208-191627.jpg

I ha a good time, but couldn’t stay too late because I needed to get up early for Super Bowl Sunday. I decided to prepare jambalaya from scratch. Here it is prepped an ready to cook:

20120208-191758.jpg

We spent the day at my Dad’s house for the big game. He rearranged some furniture and made sure that all eleven of us had a comfy spot to sit.

20120208-191931.jpg

Since meeting Anthony, I have learned so much about football. I was raised by a hardcore Chicago Bears fan and although dad took me to games, he never really explained the game. Anthony is a HUGE Notre Dame fan and just loves everything about college football!!! I know more than I ever dreamed of and I enjoy a good game (especially college games), but I was almost bored on Sunday. Surprisingly, I did pretty good about counting my calories for the day and didn’t eat out of boredom. I did eat a little of my jambalaya once it was done (probably overdone with mushy rice, but whatever…everyone liked it!)

20120208-192327.jpg

Monday came and went in the blink of an eye. I was exhausted for some reason. When I got home at 5:30pm, I took out my contacts and slept until 7:00am the next morning. Awaking with a nagging headache, I still went to work and got a lot done.

Tuesday evening was Josh’s dad’s wake. Anthony got stuck at work, so we met up there. Wakes can be so awkward when you don’t know a lot of people. My husband is pretty good about introductions and not deserting me in these situations, so I appreciate that. We haven’t seen Josh in well over a year, so it was great to get in a couple big bear hugs over the next hour or so. He gives great hugs! In a friendly way…I imagine my sometimes jealous hubby reading through this blog one day and misunderstanding what I’m saying, so let me clarify. Josh is very tall and strong and gives great hugs. My uber-cool husband, Anthony, is my perfect fit and knows how to make me feel better with his amazing hugs!!! (There. That should eliminate any confusion or misunderstandings.). I feel so sad for our friend and his family. I can’t imagine how I would feel if I were in his shoes and don’t want to acknowledge the fact that this will be something we are faced with someday. For now, we will just be there for him in any way that we can be.

Anthony and I both attended the funeral today. Mr. & Mrs. K. have five sons. One of them passed away as an infant. The other four gave eulogies today. Right before they were about to walk up, a very loud fire alarm went off. The church informed us that normally the alarm flashes a light, but is silent. It is unheard of that the alarm makes that blaring noise during mass. At such a solemn moment you would think that this was frowned upon. Nope. Mrs. K. burst out laughing followed by her four sons. Before you knew it, we were all laughing. When the oldest got up to give his eulogy, he informed us that he asked his dad for a sign that he was okay. This was their sign. The eulogies were beautiful. Heartfelt and sincere. Thought provoking and insightful. It turns out that in January 2009, Mr. K. wrote his own eulogy. One of his sons found it and shared it with us today. There wasn’t a dry eye in the house. After the funeral mass, we celebrated his life at a luncheon at Emmett’s in Downers Grove. The food was great. The company was better. Here are a couple shots of the guys…

20120208-194205.jpg

20120208-194228.jpg

They are forever friends.

Anthony had to go into the office, but I was smart enough to get dinner going in the crockpot this morning. Golden harvest pork stew. Yum!!!

Prepped and ready to cook:

20120208-194409.jpg

Dinner’s ready!

20120208-194502.jpg

I guess you’re current. I’m back to the office tomorrow morning. Our Valentine’s Day double date on 2/11/12 is forthcoming. We don’t do Hallmark holidays, but my sister made dinner reservations for the four of us so we are going. It will be a fun evening.

Rest in peace, Mr. K. You will never be forgotten and your legacy will live on through your wonderful sons.

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Bowling, Dinner, Family, Friends, Holiday, Low Calorie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

