Stuffed Shells…Success!

On Wednesday, I was planning on making homemade stuffed shells for the first time, but we had leftovers from Tuesday instead.

On Thursday, I was planning on making homemade stuffed shells for the first time, but my hubby was ill from an earlier meal at Jimmy John’s so I made tuna casserole instead.

Today, was officially the day. Stuffed shells! Guess what? The husband went out with his co-workers instead so I have about 30 stuffed shells sitting in two pans in the fridge. Have I mentioned that I am not a big fan of cheese and the only reason that I was making them in the first place was for my hubby? You can imagine my delight when I learned that he would not be joining us this evening. (Sarcasm? Noooo.) He promised these shells to his grandma who just had knee replacement surgery last week and is in a rehabilitation facility less than five minutes from our house. I had to make them. She loved them, so dinner was a success! Perhaps an army of hungry people will stop by and eat the leftovers. I will keep dreaming…

Here is the link to the recipe that I started with: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/10/three-cheese-stuffed-shells-with-meaty-tomato-sauce/

I did not use parmesan. I chose shredded mozzarella instead. Also, I don’t cook with wine or even keep it in the house anymore, I just skipped it. I think it was perfectly fine without it.

Here are the garlic and onions once chopped and placed in the pan with the olive oil:

20120203-210645.jpg

Here is the mixture of cheeses, eggs, fresh herbs, etc. before stuffing it into the shells:

20120203-210758.jpg

Here is my pyrex 9×13 pan with a bit of sauce on the bottom (I used one 9×13 and one 8×8 or 9×9 to fit all the shells):

20120203-210923.jpg

Once I stuffed all the shells, here is what that looked like (remember, opening should be face down):

20120203-211014.jpg

Then, I covered everything with the rest of the sauce and shredded mozzarella cheese:

20120203-211112.jpg

Baked it for 25 minutes and tada…stuffed shells!!!

20120203-211213.jpg

I ate two, Michael ate three and I gave grandma about six. These are very cheesy. Make sure that you’re a fan of the cheese before attempting this dish. I’ll make it again because grandma raved, but for a party, not for dinner for three.

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Dinner, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuffed Shells…Success!

  1. Corrie Anne says:

    Stuffed shells are seriously, seriously one of my faves! I used to make them when I worked in the kitchen in college for the whole cafeteria!!! Yum!!!

    • jenni41013 says:

      Did you do anything unique with yours? I wish I liked cheese. I know I am in the minority, but it rules so many things out. As I’ve gotten older at least I will try things with cheese. I rarely find that I am a fan.

Leave a Reply

