Saturday

I am so pleased with myself tonight. After sleeping in a little too long this morning, I thought today would be a waste of a day. Not so. I accomplished a lot! Dinner menu/lunch leftovers planned for the week & shopping list complete for tomorrow.

Here’s the plan:
Monday: crockpot turkey breast with gravy and mashed potatoes followed by applesauce cookies with caramel frosting.
Tuesday: Michael’s 15 birthday!!! We are going out for dinner…his choice.
Wednesday: golden harvest pork stew minus the sweet potatoes because my hubby doesn’t like them. It’s another crockpot meal.
Thursday: stuffed shells with a homemade meat sauce.
Friday: meatloaf and veggies.
Saturday: lemon and herb chicken with potatoes and green beans.
Sunday: jambalaya. Yet another crockpot delight!

I figure if I post the planned list, it might help me stick to it. Everything is new to us except the pork stew and the meatloaf. Usually, I make meatloaf muffins because the like the crusty outside. For that very reason, my husband prefers an actual loaf of meat (and he wants beef, not turkey this week). I am debating going half and half without mentioning it (aka hide the healthy), but he was pretty serious about the beef, so maybe I will stick with beef for this time.

I don’t think I will be able to eat more than one of Monday’s cookies per day to stay in my calorie range which is why I am making them on Monday. This way, I can refrigerate them and nibble throughout the week if they turn out good. If not, I’m guessing the teenage boy in my home will eat most of them before I have a chance anyhow. 🙂

In addition to menu planning, I made a serious dent in the laundry pile. I can open the bedroom closet door again. Yippee!!! The kitchen is nice and clean. I made homemade banana muffins…see today’s earlier post. And, I e-filed our federal and state tax returns. I am so excited! This is the earliest that I have ever completed this task. Go me!!! Last but not least, I was under my calorie goal today. Woo hoo!

My ‘official’ weigh-in is Monday morning which makes me pay more attention on the weekends which are the hardest for me. I am guessing that’s part of why I stayed in bed so late this morning. Anyhow, I feel like I am mainly on track. It’s all about portion control for me. I am making healthier choices so if I decide to have a cookie, it’s okay. And, I am only having one cookie. Just like I only had one 98 calorie muffin today. It’s hard work, but totally worth it. I feel better and I am happier. I also think it’s worth it for my family…even if the hubby wants beef every so often.

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Baking, Dinner, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday

  1. Good luck with your goals! Planning everything out is definitely half the battle and we think your menu sounds delightful and YUMMMY!!!

    Have a wonderful week!

    -Deanna and the Crew: Harley, Scarlett,Chelsea and Roory

Leave a Reply

