Low Calorie Banana Muffins

I woke up this morning wanting a Dunkin Donuts sesame bagel.  So, I hopped on their website to find out how many calories I’d be consuming if I gave into my craving (plus a small hot chocolate if it’s not too many calories…)  My guesses:  Maybe 180 for the bagel and 200 for the hot cocoa.  My sesame bagel has 360 calories!  A small hot chocolate has 220.  Don’t even think about having a coffee cake muffin…that sucker has 650 calories!  And so I debated (with myself).  Well, I could eat almost half my calories for the day with a plain sesame bagel and a small hot chocolate or I can make a healthier choice.  Healthier choice it is!

We had four bananas sitting on top of the microwave begging to be repurposed.  They have been there almost a week and should have long ago been eaten.  Oooh, let’s make banana bread!  Better yet, let’s make banana bread muffins.  The muffins are mainly so I can somewhat evenly divide the batter and determine the calorie content.  If I would have made a loaf, I could have easily guessed that a two inch thick slice was only about 50 calories.  Portion control is key for me, so muffins are perfect.  I started my online search and came across this recipe:  http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=606713

Here’s what I ended up doing:

Minutes to Prepare: 10; Minutes to Cook: 20; Number of Servings: 12 (98 calories per muffin based on the ingredients I used and My Fitness Pal)

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon iodized salt

4 Chiquita bananas

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup Motts cinnamon applesauce

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line muffin pan with paper liners.In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In separate bowl, combine banana, sugar, egg and vanilla extract. Blend until well mixed. Add applesauce.

 
Slowly combine the dry mixture to the banana mixture. Blend well.Scoop batter into prepared muffin cups. Bake 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Cool before serving.

Here is the batter once everything was mixed together – no mixer, just a fork to mush up the bananas and a spoon to mix everything together:

 

Image

Here is the prepared muffin tin with the batter divided up (as evenly as possible):

Image

And, here’s what the finished product looked like:

Image

Family feedback?

Me:  Great flavor, the right size for a snack, I probably should have sprayed the muffin cups or something with non-stick spray because the muffin ‘shell’ stuck to the paper cup and I had to scrape it off with a spoon.

Michael (my 14 year old son):  This is good Mom.  They’re moist and I like that.  May I have another one?

Anthony (my hungry husband):  Why didn’t you take the paper off for me?  (Me: Because then it would have dried out.)  Oh.  Silence for about 10 ten seconds.  Muffin is gone. 

 

 

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Baking, Family, Low Calorie, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

