Seriously? Seriously?!?!

I’m a Grey’s Anatomy fan…big time.  And if you couldn’t tell from the title, I had one of those days. 

Garbage first.  Anthony called me on my way to work to inform me that he had a flat tire.  This is the third flat tire that we have dealt with since the day before Thanksgiving.  Enough is enough.  Sadly, they couldn’t patch it because the nail was somehow in the side of the tire wall.  Since neither of us knows enough about whether or not that actually could have been patched, so we are the proud owners of yet another new tire.  Then, on my drive home from the office, he called again.  This time, his keys were missing.  He’s an hour from home without any keys.  He’s not the sort of guy to lose his keys and I could tell he was about to lose his mind, so needless to say, our conversation ended quickly.  Thirty minutes later, it was determined that his co-workers must be pretty comfortable with him because as a joke, they grabbed his keys.  Hazing the new guy…oh boy!   

New year = new habits.  At least that’s my plan.  I am 32 years old and I have never really paid any attention to what I put in my body.  Cookies?  Sure.  Cake with ice cream?  Yes, please.  Potato chips & dip?  Why not???  Well, I decided that instead of “dieting” which just sounds awful to me that instead I am going to monitor what I actually consume and decrease it.  Try to find ways to be more active and see how that goes.  I downloaded the MyFitnessPal app on my iPhone.  After providing a few keys details about me and my plan, I was ready to go.  I am on day number two and it’s going okay so far.  Not awful and not great, but better than I expected.  Here’s the thing…I had no idea the number of calories, fat, sugar, etc. that I was wolfing down day after day and this tool is easy enough to use and I feel motivated to stay within the goals.  It’s not going to solve all of my problems, but it is a guide to making better choices.  I’m thrilled!

Here’s the tip that I learned today from my girlfriend, Nicolette, who has lost a crazy amount of weight, looks great and has made some real lifestyle changes over the last year.  She suggested that I drink half my weight in ounces of water everday.  So, if I weight 140 pounds (wishful thinking…), I should drink 70 ounces of water daily.  I have about four more hours left in my day and I still need to get in about 40 more ounces before bed.  I’m hopeful that this will become easier with time.  And that there will be less frequent trips to the washroom.  I’ll keep you posted. 

Chicken is baking in the oven and I can smell it, so I’m off to finish cooking dinner. 

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

