Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

The Chicagoland weather leaves something to be desired. I’ll be honest – it really isn’t the reason that people move here. I think that they come for the food, but that’s another story.

After lying awake for waaay too long last night, I overslept this morning. Not by much, but enough to make the whole day feel ‘off’. The ice on the windshield was not that heavy, but it was practically plastered on the window, so I felt like I scraped for ten minutes on one window without even making a dent. My wet hair turned to icicles as I stood there and I thought about my minor discomfort. I went right back to thinking about the homeless in our cities again. So, I sent a quick message to that Yelper I mentioned last night. I want to meet her and help spread goodwill to others – namely the homeless. I’m still waiting to hear back.

The holiday cheer that I mentioned at the office yesterday seemed to be in full effect when I arrived. One of our co-workers is Jewish and she happened to be out of the office for a few days, so our Holiday Cheer Coordinator made her a crown. Just like our Christmas headbands, but instead it was a Hanukkah crown. She had to make it herself because she couldn’t find anything even close to a Hanukkah crown at a store. I thought it was very thoughtful and was sad that I missed the opportunity to photograph it. I will try to get a picture tomorrow and share it with you.

Sadly, the holiday cheer promptly ended with a couple of very unhappy campers. Almost immediately upon delivering the beautiful Hanukkah crown to its intended recipient, there was a loud discussion. I will leave it at that, but the whole warm, fuzzy feeling went right out the proverbial window. The next eight hours of my life were the longest I have felt in a long time. The cheer was replaced by tension. The twinkling lights were darkened by a looming cloud of despair. Tomorrow is the holiday party for the seven of us. We are closing the office at noon and heading to Cooper’s Hawk for a nice lunch. I am very hopeful that the candy canes will sweeten the day and things will turn right back around.

Getting together with family and friends is one of my favorite things to do! It is especially nice during the holidays to share a few hours with the important people in your life to show them how much they mean to you. I met my friend, Dianne, for dinner tonight. She’s a riot! About four years ago, I met Dianne while bowling in a weekly league with my then fiance. She is married to Scott, she’s eighteen years older than me and a very kind person. Dianne has one daughter and three dogs. She doesn’t think that she’s very photogenic, so here is a picture of her bowling a month or so ago:

I should mention that I am much pickier than Dianne when it comes to food. She’s not very adventurous, but will go almost anywhere. With a Restaurant.com certificate in hand, we went to Yue Sun in Wood Dale for dinner tonight. It was her first visit…I have probably been there a dozen times over the past five years. The company was great, the food was plentiful, but the atmosphere was nuts! Young children climbed and ran all around without mom and dad blinking an eye. Three/four year old children screaming and disturbing other’s during dinner at 8pm. I felt bad for the other people at our table who were very dissatisfied with the ambiance. As a parent myself, I think it is okay for me to say that it is not okay for another parent to ignore their child’s disruptive behavior in public. I’m not a ‘children should be seen and not heard’ person, but I do know that manners and good behavior should be practiced at home regularly. We all have ‘off’ days…as I mentioned earlier…but this was just too much. Anyhow, as we left the restaurant, I noticed their Christmas tree. It was pretty, but crooked. I had to take a picture for you:

It was a little ‘off’…and the perfect end to my day.

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Bowling, Dinner, Friends, Holiday, Homeless, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

