Here we go!

Many years ago, I started to write a blog. After a very short time, I gave it up and spent a lot of time reading other people’s ramblings. I have since found that I have things to say and no where to really say them. Guess what? The world of Facebook really doesn’t want to hear all the things that I have to say. And, I spend a lot of time on FB… So instead, I will give this a try. I will put my comments out there for the real world and hope that maybe the real world will comment back.

Today, was a turning point for me. I am just thankful that I recognized it before it was over.

Christmas is 18 days away. I have been in a less than stellar mood. Everyone around me seems to be feeling the same way. This morning, a co-worker decided to spread a bit of holiday cheer. She came in early with a beautiful tree, lit it up with sparkling white lights, shiny ornaments and candy canes. Then, she passed out holiday headbands for all of us to wear. I had reindeer antlers! There were gingerbread men, a Christmas tree, peppermints (that we decided to call sugarplums because that’s more fun!) and a silver sequined santa hat.

When I got home, I learned that my husband has been hired as a full-time employee about an hour away from our home. I am so proud of him and excited about what this means for us! The day continued to get better…

While driving my 14 year old son to religious education class tonight, he asked me what I want to be sure to do before I die. See, he is way too deep for a 14 year old, but I always try to answer him openly and honestly. I told him that I want to make sure to positively impact other people’s lives regularly. I told him that I think that’s my calling in life. I mean it.

To relax, I spent a little time online tonight. I spend the second-most amount of online time on Yelp. It’s a wonderful website that people like you and me use to write reviews and share them with others. No professional critics. Just average joes. I have been using the website for a couple years with great success and happen to be an Elite member. In my quest to be invited back for the third year of Elite-ism, I have decided to spend more time on the Talk Boards. Tonight, I stumbled upon a great project. A fellow Yelper in the Chicagoland area has taken it upon herself over the past two years or so to carry useful,commonplace items with her that a homeless person might need and appreciate and she passes these things out in her travels. In addition, she spends time talking with the people she meets and blogs about her experience. She is my inspiration tonight. I want to meet her and help her on her quest to assist those in need. I’ve decided that I will work on that tomorrow.

20111207-230813.jpg

About jenni41013

I am a 38 year old wife, mom, sister, auntie, daughter, friend and advocate living in the burbs. In 2012 when I started writing, I was on a journey to take a more healthy approach toward my lifestyle. In 2013, I re-evaluated a lot of things and I say "no" to people, things and commitments more often without guilt. In 2014, I got serious about doing what I want to do and really living life. By 2016, I was so much happier living a life I️ loved. And now in 2017, I’m recommitting to a healthier me while still enjoying all life has to offer. I am excited about my life and where I'm headed with the most amazing people all around me!
This entry was posted in Holiday, Homeless and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

